The Government announced today (March 7) the appointment of Professor Daniel Shek Tan-lei as the new non-official Chairman of the Family Council (the Council), as well as the re-appointment of seven incumbent members and appointment of seven new members to the Council for a period of two years with effect from April 1, 2013.

The Council has been serving as a cross-sector and cross-bureau platform for examining family-related policies and promoting a culture of loving families in the community since its establishment in 2007.

From April 1 this year, the established approach of including family perspectives in the policy-making process will be further enhanced by introducing a mandatory assessment of family implications for all policies. Bureaux and departments are also encouraged to consult the Council on new policies which may carry family implications.

"The Council, currently chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, will be re-constituted to implement the new initiatives and to strengthen its advisory role. The Chief Executive has therefore appointed Professor Shek, an incumbent Council member, as the new non-official Chairman of the Council," a Government spokesman said.

"Professor Shek is currently the Chair Professor of the Department of Applied Social Sciences at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. As a well-respected academic who has a sound record of public service, particularly in youth and family-related work, we believe that Professor Shek will be able to lead the Family Council in its work."

"At the Family Council meeting held today, Members expressed unanimous support to the reconstitution. We also thank the six outgoing members, Mr Chow Yung, Robert, Ms Lai

1

Fung-yee, Angelina, Dr Lee Wai-yung, Dr Pang King-chee, Dr Wong Chung-kwong and Professor Wong Po-choi for their invaluable contribution and dedication to the work of the Council over the past few years", the spokesman added.

The membership list of the Council for the new term is as follows:

Chairman

Prof SHEK Tan-lei, Daniel

Ex-officio Members

Mr CHAN Chung-bun, Bunny, Chairperson of the Commission on Youth Prof CHAN Cheung-ming, Alfred, Chairperson of the Elderly Commission Mrs LAU KUN Lai-kuen, Stella, Chairperson of the Women's Commission

Non-official Members (re-appointments)

Dr KOONG May-kay, Maggie Ms LAW Suk-kwan, Lilian Dr LI Sau-hung, Eddy Ms LOO Shirley Marie Therese Ms WONG Pik-kiu, Peggy Ms YAU Oi-yuen, Irene Mr YIU Tze-leung

Non-official Members (new appointments)

Prof AU Kit-fong, Terry Mrs CHU YEUNG Pak-yu, Patricia Prof LAM Tai-hing Mr LEE Luen-fai Miss TANG Pui-yee, Phoebe Dr TSUI Luen-on, Gordon Miss WONG Siu-ling, Gabriella

Official Members

Secretary for Home Affairs, or his representative Secretary for Labour and Welfare, or his representative Secretary for Education, or his representative Head of Central Policy Unit, or his representative

Ends/Thursday, 7 March 2013